The History of The Bells Steakhouse.
The "Bells" has very much been at the heart of the Parish of Silkstone through generations. The original building dates back to the very early 1800's and first became a Public House named "The Six Ringers" in the mid 1800's. Early reference to this is made in that in January of 1843 Mr Davies from West Yorkshire lectured at "The Six Ringers Inn" on Trade Unionism and James Wilson was the first to be enrolled.
The story of "The Bells" from this early date is told in the theme and style of the extensive yet sympathetic renovations carried out in the creation of "The Bells Steakhouse".
William Hayes the Blacksmith to the Clarke family, who owned the local coal mines and resided at Noblethorpe Hall, can be seen pounding his anvil in the carefully recreated forge with his furnace burning brightly fuelled by locally mined Clarke's coal.
The six bells from which the original Public House gained its name can be seen peeling gracefully in "The Bell Tower" dining area with the Gargoyles staring mischievously down on our guests.
"The Waggonway" dining room recounts on its walls the journey, via horse drawn railway tubs, of coal mined in the Silkstone pits to the Barnby Basin at Cawthorne.
Local children can be seen enthusiastically collecting their miners lamps before beginning their shift and returning many hours later with weary coal blackened faces.
"The Belfry" proudly boasts a scale model of the magnificent "Minster of The Moors" with its 80ft tower housing the six bells. The walls are adorned with pictures of the church and it's grounds. Peer through the Gothic windows to view the bells up close.
Many more features and artefacts can be seen during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you to "The Bells Experience"
** Over 12’s Dining Policy - Children over the age of 12 are allowed in the main dining area - however younger children and families can be accommodated in our Belfry area (unless booked).